Turbo Optima Mid - Evolution aka 21st Century Mid

The place for all things Kyosho.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

HKS_TRD
Approved Member

Turbo Optima Mid - Evolution aka 21st Century Mid

Post by HKS_TRD »

This is a project I have been chipping away at on and off for nearly two years with most of the time having been spent sourcing parts, trial fitting various bits and getting ideas from other peoples builds. I've recently gotten to the point where I had all the specs locked in so its now 95% assembled, with a few loose ends and decisions to tie up.
The main aim was to build a Mid that was as modified as possible, but with modern pats. The bulk of the bits would be from the vintage Lazer series, either standard parts or as things progressed more and more custom and aftermarket parts. Also the color theme evolved to being carbon and blue anodised or dyed parts.

First step like all my builds was the diffs. I used ceramic diff balls and a set of new pulleys bearings and plates

Then the first custom piece was the layshaft from Alcyon on Oople which lets you run the B4 slipper, along with a new vintage nylon counter gear, new kyosho parts to make up the rest of the gearbox and the associated B4 parts, including the vented plates which I had anodised blue and associated ceramic bearings

So with the layshaft assembled I could then get everything into the gearbox, the Mid rear gearbox is always a little fiddly to assemble I find, you wouldn't want to try and do it in a rush!

After a long search I managed to find a vintage finned motor plate (which I believe is A&L) which I also had anodised blue and a custom motor brace which I had Fibrelyte make for me which extends down in a similar way to the Lazer ZX-R MKII item