Kyosho Optima for NVC

The place for all things Kyosho.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Hcp22
Approved Member

Kyosho Optima for NVC

Post by Hcp22 »

WebBanner1.jpg
We have started a vintage race call “Nordic Vintage Challenge” inspired by me and Joel's visit to VONats 2013. The first race was held in the beginning of January this year in Eskilstuna Sweden, and it was an in-door race on carpet-track. The next race will be an out-door race on Astroturf and carpet track held in Oslo Norway in the beginning of August this year.

We have almost the same roles as VONats, but one of the differences is that, we have a 4WD Classic class race. Another thing that differs is the age for the Classic class; 2WD and 4WD has to be from -85 or older. The Kyosho Optima was first realest late in -85, just in time for Christmas sales. So this is what I gone build for the NVC 4WD-Classic race in Oslo. You can read all about it her http://www.ymr.no/nvc.htm

I have no experience racing the Optima, my first 4WD Kyosho was the Optima MID. So I will gladly take all the help and tips I can get from you guys how to tweak this car to be a potential winner.

Fist I needed an Optima for start, I had a vague feeling that had one, some ware among my other cars. But I couldn’t find it any ware… So I advertised for one in the “Wanted Forum” and got two answers... Then by change when I was looking for some parts among my things for this project I found it… or rather found them! I had two Optima chassis, one with a belt conversion that I totally had forgotten about.
The other one was a regular Optima chassis. But the nice thing with this last chassis is that it seems to be new built and never driven. That will suit my project perfect, I like new parts when I try to build a racer.