RC10.44 : Shaft Drive 4WD RC10

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Bubbleboy
Approved Member

RC10.44 : Shaft Drive 4WD RC10

Post by Bubbleboy »

I love this site! Specifically, the ingenuity when it comes to customizations, replica builds, and feats of engineering like Ten4 4wd project. Ever since I saw Jammin Jay's 4wd car in the mid '80s, I always wanted to build a four wheel drive RC10, and now's my chance.

Even though I have two builds underway, I figure Ahhhh..what's one more. While I have full intentions of building a Ten4 down the road, I wanted to make something different. My first 4wd was a Hotshot, and I have to say, I'm a fan of shaft drive. So that's what I'm going to attempt to integrate into a tub chassis.

Unfortunately, I'm not an engineer or a machinist, so this will be a conglomeration of bits and pieces from the Associated bin.

A Worlds chassis will be used as I had a spare that I had already cut down, so I figure a couple more holes in it won't hurt it. I bought the front and rear diffs from a B44.1 off of eBay for a couple of bucks to see if this was even worth attempting. I tried to find a B44.X roller, but nothing has come up yet for the price I want to pay.

As luck would have it, the rear B44 diff has two mounts that just so happen to align with the Stealth's two forward mounting holes. There is some additional material on the bottom of the tranny case that will be ground down so that it sits level, then some shims applied to the rear mounting points. Haven't decided how I'll finish the rear of the car, but chances are good the motor cover will get trimmed off.

Onto the fun part....the front!