Gold Pan RC10 Restoration Project

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

smahoney1

Gold Pan RC10 Restoration Project

Post by smahoney1 »

New forum member. I was hoping to get some advice on restoring an old gold pan RC10 back to running condition. The car is in good condition with Novak electronics and looks to be a pole position brushed motor. Tires are dry rotted from sitting over the years and I do not have a radio. Should I restore and run the old electronics or upgrade to a brushless system? The car is stamped with a letter A on the bottom. Can anyone recommend a budget build path including radio? Thanks in advance for the help. I'm a novice learning as I go.

Below is a dropbox link to pictures of the car
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/l9e26gvro6ts0h3/AABPr8r9VbszKwglz6NqbBxya?dl=0

RC10th
Approved Member

Re: Gold Pan RC10 Restoration Project

Post by RC10th »

Cool looking buggy, I like it a lot.

If it were mine I'd clean it all up, replace the dyed parts with good used white parts and put it on the shelf.
I was old school - when old school wasn't cool !

jwscab

Post by jwscab »

yep, they are definitely worth getting up and running, even if to drive around in your driveway.

you can get re-release tires and wheels all over ebay, known as 'jelly bean'. also available from many online hobby shops.

do yourself a favor and just cruise around this forum, there was just recently a thread about radios, and lots of guys recommend the latest 3 channel futaba that is not that expensive. Or you could find the very inexpensive overseas radios from hobbyking or flysky or similar that usually work well enough and are very cheap.

overall your best bet is to get everything cleaned up, checked out, and give it a go. repair or replace from there.