VAE's "How to paint like the pros"

Show off your paintwork, tips/tricks, decals, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

vintage AE
Approved Member

VAE's "How to paint like the pros"

Post by vintage AE »

Okay, I'm not a pro, let's just clear the air on that one.

I snapped a photo of my unpainted body with just 4 pieces of masking tape on it and posted it on one of my local off road tracks facebook page. It sparked some questions, so I thought I'd do a photo log of the process I go through on painting a body. Since my body is a really easy one to paint and can be done in less than 2 hours, I thought I'd give this photo log a try.

I didn't think of snapping pics until the masking stage, so to get you up to date...wash your body with soapy water and rinse. I use liquid hand or dish soap, I'm not fussy. Apply you window masks, if you want, some people prefer masking their windows with their own masking tape to get a better fit.

Most of you know this car, this is what we are painting today. The pin stripe makes it really easy to do, you'll see.
2014-06-30 20.36.45.jpg
I use vinyl pin stripping masking tape that you can get at the local auto body supply shop. I've got 1/16 and 1/8" tape that works great for RC bodies.

I lay the vinyl tape down as my pin stripe in this case.

I then I mask the whole thing with liquid mask.

Hard to tell, but 3 coats of liquid mask, first thin, second to heavy. I water mine down a 1/3 with water and use ~45psi with a medium nozzled airbrush

I cut the liquid mask on the tape on almost each layer. If you do this, you maintain the sharp, crisp edge of the vinyl and you don't risk scoring the body.

Of course, darkest colour to lightest colour is the order when painting from the inside out.

First layer, black shading and blue background.

Cut along the next line and remove that section of liquid mask. Fluorescent orange backed with white...you can see the difference in colour once you back it.