RC10 B3 buggy - noob alert

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

veedubmaster

RC10 B3 buggy - noob alert

Post by veedubmaster »

hi all,

total noob here to the RC world.

my story is my 11yr old son came home wanting an RC car as his friends had £650 ones :shock: I explained I could buy a cool VW for that money but he didnt understand :lol:

anyways, following a post on Vzi I got offered the B3, knowing nothing of them I was offered the buggy, charger, 2 batteries and the controller for £50 all in.

seems we got a pretty good deal. I called at my local model shop and got talking to the lad there, he's an ex RC racer and gave the buggy a little TLC, cleaned the motor, got it running again properly, re soldered some joins and tubed up the aerial, all for free :D

we've had it out three times now, first on grass, batteries lasted 5mins each, second time on some local sand dune/jumps and got roughly 8-10 mins each battery then the last time solely on tarmac and got over 10 mins per battery.

ive got loads of questions but if you're like me I love looking at pics of anything cool so i'll stick some pics up and ask questions later.

thanks

Glenn & Joel (joel is 11 btw)

Jay Dub
Approved Member

Re: RC10 B3 buggy - noob alert

Post by Jay Dub »

Cool. The B3 is a great car, and still has good parts availability. If you are looking for more run time, look into a Brushless motor/speedo combination. And then a Lipo battery/charger combo. Sweet body too BTW. -Jeff

sneako43
Approved Member

Post by sneako43 »

Whatever parts you can't find for the B3, check for the Thunder Tiger Phoenix BX - it's a B3 clone.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0005p?&I=TTRD0631&P=X

I just rebuilt a B3. It's a great buggy.

Jay Dub is right; the upgrade to a Brushless system and Lipo batteries will make a huge difference!
SC10 -- FT B4.1

CamplinP
Approved Member

Post by CamplinP »