chassis paint removal

Show off your paintwork, tips/tricks, decals, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

R.A.C.I.N

chassis paint removal

Post by R.A.C.I.N »

New member here and all i can say is this site is awesome!!!! This is my first build (in 20 some years ). I've been racing since the late '80's , carpet oval for the last ten yrs. My 4yr. old son decided he wanted an offroad buggy, so i started lookin on ebay a couple of months ago for something for him to play with. He's a decent oval driver, so i thought an offroad car would improve his skills, and the next thing i know i was droolin over Edinger RC10's !! Not really sure how i ended up here, led here by the rc gods, i'm sure. Anyway i bought an A stamp car covered in gray primer and magic marker! How do i get the paint off without ruining the anodizing? I'm pretty sure this was painted blue from the factory, blue paint underneath the nose plate then some fool primered it after it was assembled. i soaked it in denatured alcohol for three days now but that doesn't seem to be working. All the nylon parts are soaking in simple green and it looks like most of the marker will come off without scrubbing. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I also have an RC10T, T2,and a JRX2 awaiting resurrection! Bought them all for less than $30 each.
Attachments
Chassis.jpg
Is the blue paint factory paint?
Chassis.jpg (23.9 KiB) Viewed 2489 times
Chassis.jpg (23.9 KiB) Viewed 2489 times

JK Racing
Approved Member

Re: chassis paint removal

Post by JK Racing »

acetone, will eat the paint and not harm the anodizing.
--Joey --
Vintage A&L and Factory Works
Old School Racer & Vintage RC Car nut
JKRacingRC.com

THUNDERSTRIKE1
Approved Member

Post by THUNDERSTRIKE1 »

Just hope they didnt sand it down first.Most ive come across werent sanded down ,just painted over.DON

R.A.C.I.N

Post by R.A.C.I.N »