My starting point...a modded RC10L

RC10/12/100/200/250/300/500/Dual Sport
General discussion, builds/restorations etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

NüMatt

My starting point...a modded RC10L

Post by NüMatt »

Hey all. I'm new to the forums here. I'm also new to pan cars. I recently traded my brother-in-law some car audio gear for his RC cars. I picked up a 1st gen T-Maxx, an HPI RS4 Pro 2 (I think), a Bolink 91 sport, and an RC10L.

I've decided to attack the 10L first. From what I can tell, the chassis is the only thing stock. It's apparently a RC10L graphite/carbon fiber chassis. The graphite nerf bars appear to be a slightly different material (not glossy like the chassis), and the top pod brace doesn't appear to be factory, as it's got an piece on an angle in the large hole. I think that maybe the lower pod brace is the HPI Aero Brace, and the motor mount is possibly an Associated option heat sink mount. In addition, it's got a sway bar setup on it. I thought maybe Composite Craft, but I'm not sure. The graphite rear chassis brace is different than factory, and underneath the shock but above the T-Plate is some other support structure tied into it all. Seems rather complicated for a relatively simple pan car. The rear axle should be graphite, but appears to be aluminum. Up front I've got what appears to maybe be a Cheetah front end (thanks to scr8p and PTModIT for their input in another thread). Since I don't have any experience with pan cars at all, I would definitely appreciate some input on what I should keep, and what I should ditch in favor of stock parts. I don't intend to race competitively. I would likely just hit some parking lots nearby. Also, if someone can give me some tips on cleaning up the chassis safely without damaging the carbon fiber I would appreciate the input.

Here are some pics of what I'm working with...

scr8p
Administrator

Re: My starting point...a modded RC10L

Post by scr8p »

composite craft rear sway bar