Removing Body Shell Paint and Painting of Body Frame

Show off your paintwork, tips/tricks, decals, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

ireg
Approved Member

Removing Body Shell Paint and Painting of Body Frame

Post by ireg »

Just want to share and ask your suggestion as well

Nothing to do during the last holiday (Hari Raya)
So I decided to remove an old paint in one body shell.

The body shell, even the wind shield was painted in black color. The previous owner tried to scratch it to remove the paint but did not finish and gave it to me.

Since this is my first time, I did what the guy suggested on the You Tube and used Dot 4 brake fluid (do this, do that and etc.)

Here is the result, a cloudy body shell. I don’t know what I did wrong. My first trial failed

Any suggestions, on how to make this thing work?

jwscab

Re: Removing Body Shell Paint

Post by jwscab »

I think that is what happens any time you strip lexan paint. was the paint on the inside? If you reapply paint on the inside, you'll get a slightly hazy finish, but it will still be painted, and probably look OK.

the body is already shot, you have nothing to lose, so shooting it with some paint to see how it looks is your best bet. Looks like you will have to use some tint or black on the windows again though.

mikedealer
Approved Member

Post by mikedealer »

ive used nitro fuel, like for RC buggies, doesnt haze plastic at all, but little late for that now lol. u could try and buff plastic but probably will take more time than its worth.

Coelacanth
Approved Member

Post by Coelacanth »

I had a similar experience trying to remove fairly fresh paint from a body where everything was bleeding under the 3M Fine Line tape or pulling up the tape pulled paint up too. It was hopeless, and I did everything I could to prep it properly. I tried both nitro fuel and DOT4 brake fluid to remove the paint, both of which everyone claimed didn't cause hazing...well, you can see the results. :)