Rusty RC12E Resto ***Finished!!!

RC10/12/100/200/250/300/500/Dual Sport
General discussion, builds/restorations etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

PlastiZapCA+
Approved Member

Rusty RC12E Resto ***Finished!!!

Post by PlastiZapCA+ »

Hello guys! I'm mainly a military scale model builder but have decided to switch up for a bit as I'm going through a burnout on scale stuff. I ran across this old RC12E on e-Bay while gathering parts for a scale PT Boat I had converted over to R/C. I remember seeing the adds for this car in an old magazine when I was a kid. Our school library had lots of old R/C mags to drool over back in the day. I never did get a chance to build an Associated car until now so here goes!

The car I received was mostly intact but none of the electronic components are salvageable. It appears to have been exposed to a lot of moisture as the motor and both servos were frozen with rust. My plan is to restore this car to running condition and in as close to the original configuration as possible. I've already secured a nos Associated resistor type speed control and am looking at some Futaba servos that might be candidates for this car. Hopefully I can get this machine back on the road again soon.

Here are the auction pics of the car.

I soaked this motor in WD-40 and got it running again just for fun. It sounds like a Sherman tank with rusty tracks though. :D

PlastiZapCA+
Approved Member

Re: Rusty RC12E Resto

Post by PlastiZapCA+ »

Here are some pics of the car after the tear down. Now you can really see the amount of work to be done.

The radio tray is really going to need some work as the resistor has come into contact with it. There is a nice melted spot in the middle and some warpage to boot.

The wing was home made by the original owner and will be restored. He did a great job and it's in the perfect shape of an airfoil. It's constructed of balsa so weight is not really a factor. It's also very cool looking!