New Member - Trying to rebuild an XX-T

The place for all things Losi.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

sunshineFC3s

New Member - Trying to rebuild an XX-T

Post by sunshineFC3s »

Hi guys,
I got my hands on a really clean XX-T with some graphite bits on it. Only part was a broken diff gear. Since these gears are no longer available to buy...only option was to find NOS. So, naturally, I bought a few parts lots - the stuff in the pix, plus some additional motors, a few okay bodies, two transmitters, and a bunch of wheels. I'd like to rebuild this thing, and beat on it a bit (not too badly...parts are hard to find!!!) Last, but not least, I want to send a big thanks to Mytimac at OldRC.com for pointing me to this forum.

So, I hope to document the rebuild of this driver here, and also ask some questions. I'm new to this hobby, but mechanically capable.

Question 1)

The diff. I'd like to set the diff up properly. I think I have all the parts I need, except the ball bearings and the lube. I'm also missing a hydra drive. Here is the question, besides the balls and lube, any other parts that need to be replaced as new? How necessary is the hydra drive? Can I just use the slipper? Will that affect longevity? The manual seems to strongly recommend that I should use it ;-)

Question 2)

Shock rebuilds. What was the stock oil weight? What is a recommended setup (oil weight / springs). Seems like my parts bin has a few extra springs I can try.
Same question as above, can I rebuild the shocks reusing the original parts if they seem in good shape? Or new valves highly encouraged?

Thanks guys! Good to be here.

Now, on to some pix...
Attachments
IMG_20160313_200345701.jpg
IMG_20160313_200221401.jpg
IMG_20160313_213034138.jpg
IMG_20160313_213002416.jpg
IMG_20160313_213017208.jpg

nagreend
Approved Member

Re: New Member - Trying to rebuild an XX-T

Post by nagreend »