After 4-yrs...my '91 Stealth has begun

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

jbmeyer13
Approved Member

After 4-yrs...my '91 Stealth has begun

Post by jbmeyer13 »

After working with Fred on this project off and on across the past four years the final build has begun. I've collected 95% of the parts I need but am trying to track down the last few pieces.

Aside from Fred and his tireless approach to getting the suspension right a big thank you goes to Steve and Curtis Husting for their help in providing photographs and answering questions. I'm very happy with how this project has turned out and could never have made this as accurate without your help.

I started by drafting the chassis to scale on paper. After having a solid baseline I had my brother draft up the 2D model in AutoCAD. After he left his engineering firm I started learning to use AutoCAD to continue what seemed like a never ending series of tweaks to get both the visual and wheelbase parameters accurate. The first mock ups were done using acrylic and eventually that gave way to 30 degre CF blanks. More than once a CF chassis was cut that turned out to be slightly off the mark. While it cost quite a bit to conduct R&D in this manner there are always subtle details which couldn't be fully captured in a computer model and required real world testing.

These are some select shots throughout the process:

XLR8
Approved Member

Re: After 4-yrs...my '91 Stealth has begun

Post by XLR8 »

Awesome, Justin, simply awesome! Can't wait to see this one come together. :D
Are you planning to color your printed parts or leave them white?
Either way, it's gonna be COOL! 8)
Doug

mikea96
Approved Member

Post by mikea96 »

Looks great nice job!

jbmeyer13
Approved Member

Post by jbmeyer13 »

XLR8 wrote: Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:57 pm Awesome, Justin, simply awesome! Can't wait to see this one come together. :D
Are you planning to color your printed parts or leave them white?