Mardave Meteor Help required

The place for all things Mardave.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Schmule

Mardave Meteor Help required

Post by Schmule »

Hi there - I'm hoping someone might be able to help me.

Before I start, I should mention that I have NO idea about building RC cars. Taking it apart would lead me to believe I'd learn fairly quickly, because I think it looks relatively basic in its design, but I'm not technical, so I could be wrong, hence me being on here!!

I have an original Mardave Meteor, which I think is in fairly good condition, and I'm looking to replace any suspect parts and get it running again so I can use it with my kids.
I would say it's not been used since I was around 13-14 (I'm now 40!) yet the battery hasn't corroded, the suspension still works etc etc.
I have photo's of it, and having taken it apart, it would appear to be complete and all the bits are clean and with a little TLC, should scrub up ok.

My question is a few fold:

What is the best motor to fit to it - I'm not convinced the one I have works as I think that was why I stopped using it
Is it worth my while to replace the suspension?
I don't have the original remote control unit - could anyone recommend a good unit? I don't like the trigger/gun types, preferring the traditional type.
Is it likely I'd have to replace any of the other original parts? The tyres are ropey to say the least and very flat, so I would definately need these.

I would love to get this back up and running, and am falling on the helpfullness of the forum members for anyone to give me advice as to the best place to start, and whether there are things I should look out for. I have tried to attach some images to whet the appetite of those of you who are interested in what I think is a model quite fondly thought of.
Mardave 1.jpg
Mardave 2.jpg
Mardave 3.jpg
Mardave 4.jpg
Mardave 5.jpg
Mardave 6.jpg
Mardave 7.jpg
Mardave 8.jpg
Mardave 9.jpg
Mardave 10.jpg
Thank you in advance.