Solder station recommendations.

Brushless, lipo, spectrum, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

R6cowboy

Solder station recommendations.

Post by R6cowboy »

Recently getting back into RC it's time to search for a decent soldering station specifically for my RC stuff. I have some but minimal experience and knowledge with soldering. What watt iron is ideal for r/c, solder type, etc? What do you use or recommend? What's the price range I'll be looking at for a decent solder station? Please share any tips and advice. And I've always been a fan of the Weller brand for what its worth.
Thanks all & good day.
-Jerry-

coxbros1

Re: Solder station recommendations.

Post by coxbros1 »

I have two of these....1 at the track, 1 at home. had them for yrs and they work perfectly....totally adjustable...degrees in celsius...for the price how could u go wrong?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/937D-Electric-Iron-Soldering-Station-SMD-Welder-Welding-w-Stand-Sponge-ESD-110V-/382415394964?_trksid=p2349624.m46890.l49292
Tap pic for clarity: Derek

R6cowboy

Post by R6cowboy »

Do they have one in fahrenheit?
-Jerry-

juicedcoupe

Post by juicedcoupe »

Kester still makes a real 60/40 lead solder. I'm still working from my stash of old Radio Shack solder.

For simplicity, I use a basic 40 watt Weller from Home Depot, with a generic holder and tip cleaner. I like the larger chisel tips.
Always looking for new and interesting ways to waste money.

coxbros1

Post by coxbros1 »

R6cowboy wrote: Fri Dec 11, 2020 9:16 am Do they have one in fahrenheit?
Not that I know of but u get used to it fast....basically 480 degrees c is all the way up.... I use that on most everything, batteries, motors etc. then if i solder small wires I back out down to 350.
Tap pic for clarity: Derek

Lastplace

Post by Lastplace »

Hakko FX888

RC10th
Approved Member

Post by RC10th »

I want a Hakko 937
I was old school - when old school wasn't cool !

R6cowboy

Post by R6cowboy »

Thanks for the replies.