Techno-guys Please Apply Within
- Halgar
- Approved Member
- Posts: 3510
- Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:34 pm
- Location: USA
- Has thanked: 138 times
- Been thanked: 172 times
Techno-guys Please Apply Within
Is anyone familiar with the creation of .pdf files? I need to insert dynamic files (i.e. calculators ) into .pdf files that I'm creating. Is this possible, and how?
Thanks for the assistance.
Thanks for the assistance.
klavy69 wrote:... when I give you s&#t its a loan...I want it back!
- Tadracket
- Approved Member
- Posts: 1302
- Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:57 pm
- Location: Southport North Carolina
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
Never saw anyone do that with a pdf
If it works out, let me know.
Why are you using pdf?

If it works out, let me know.
Why are you using pdf?
He's an idiot. Comes from upbringing. His parents are probably idiots too.
- Halgar
- Approved Member
- Posts: 3510
- Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:34 pm
- Location: USA
- Has thanked: 138 times
- Been thanked: 172 times
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
Because it's a standardized format for electronic books, the reader is free, and nearly everyone has it on their computer. I hope there is a means to doing this, it will make the book I'm working on extremely unique.
klavy69 wrote:... when I give you s&#t its a loan...I want it back!
- mikedealer
- Approved Member
- Posts: 1778
- Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:25 am
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
not possible with pdf's, but ive done it with Flash and gave people a link to a website or the flash file itself to run locally. I made a mortgage calculator once for a company and made it a flash file. Of course it could be done with some HTML Programming also, but might require some sort of scripted backend or something, i just went the flash route and it worked fine. i can find the links if you wanna see the capabilities
- Tadracket
- Approved Member
- Posts: 1302
- Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:57 pm
- Location: Southport North Carolina
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
You could use excel. Microsoft offers free viewer now and excel is capable of just about anything, with a little work.
He's an idiot. Comes from upbringing. His parents are probably idiots too.
- Halgar
- Approved Member
- Posts: 3510
- Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:34 pm
- Location: USA
- Has thanked: 138 times
- Been thanked: 172 times
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
If this helps, supposedly there is a way to do it using java script. Looking at the code for the webpage it uses a script.
Mike, we're working of developing a website that will include pages that have the calculators and other dynamic items.
This is the code for one of the calculators:
Mike, we're working of developing a website that will include pages that have the calculators and other dynamic items.
This is the code for one of the calculators:
Code: Select all
<CENTER>
<table style="width: 200px; border: 1px solid #253460; padding: 0; background-color: #dddddd;">
<TR>
<TD colspan=3 style="text-align: center; background-color: #253460; font-family: Verdana, Arial, sans serif; font-size: 12px; color: #FFFFFF;"><B>General Information Calculator</B></TD>
</TR>
<TR>
<TD STYLE="font-size: 100%;">
<FORM NAME="generalcalculator" ACTION="" METHOD="GET">
<TR><TD STYLE="width: 70%;"><B>Type of grain:</B></TD><TD></TD><TD><SELECT NAME="graintype" ID="graintype" length="10"><OPTION VALUE="6">Sorghum<OPTION VALUE="5">Rice<OPTION VALUE="4">Wheat<OPTION VALUE="3">Barley<OPTION SELECTED VALUE="2">Corn<OPTION VALUE="1">Other</SELECT></TD></TR><P>
<TR><TD STYLE="width: 70%;"><B>Size of boiler:</B></TD><TD STYLE="width: 30%;"> <INPUT TYPE="text" ID="boilersize" NAME="boilersize" VALUE="190" SIZE="4"></TD><TD><SELECT NAME="boilermetric" ID="boilermetric"><OPTION SELECTED VALUE="2">Gallons<OPTION VALUE="1">Liters</SELECT></TD></TR><P>
<TR><TD STYLE="width: 70%;"><B>Fermentation percentage:</B></TD><TD STYLE="width: 30%;"> <INPUT TYPE="text" ID="fermentpercent" NAME="fermentpercent" VALUE="17" SIZE="4"></TD><TD><SELECT NAME="fermentmetric" ID="fermentmetric"><OPTION SELECTED VALUE="2">Percent</SELECT></TD></TR><P>
<TR><TD style="text-align: center; background-color: #253460; font-family: Verdana, Arial, sans serif; font-size: 12px; color: #FFFFFF;" colspan=3><B>Results:</B></TD></TR>
<TR><TD colspan=1><B>Water to begin with:</B></TD><TD><INPUT TYPE="text" ID="dilutesize" NAME="dilutesize" SIZE="4"></TD><TD><SELECT NAME="dilutemetric" ID="dilutemetric"><OPTION SELECTED VALUE="1">Gallons<OPTION VALUE="2">Liters</SELECT></TD></TR>
<TR><TD colspan=1><B>Weight of grain to begin with:</B></TD><TD><INPUT TYPE="text" ID="feedstocksize" NAME="feedstocksize" SIZE="4"></TD><TD><SELECT NAME="dextrinmetric" ID="dextrinmetric"><OPTION SELECTED VALUE="1">Pounds<OPTION VALUE="2">Kilograms</SELECT></TD></TR>
<TR><TD colspan=3><CENTER><INPUT TYPE="button" NAME="calculate" Value="Calculate!" onClick="BoilerText(this.form)"></CENTER></TD></TR>
</FORM>
</TD>
</TR>
</TABLE>
</CENTER>
klavy69 wrote:... when I give you s&#t its a loan...I want it back!
- danglenode
- Approved Member
- Posts: 46
- Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 3:00 pm
- Location: So Cal
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
HI -
As far as I know that should be doable, I think more so with Acrobat 8 Professional but I am not 100% sure about the process or if it can be done. I would think if you can place it into say a word file and have the calculator stuff work it would work within a pdf. You may need to actually code the buttons and create form elements to calculate what you need. I would try to create a form and have the form calculate the items.
Hope this helps, and let us know what you came up with.
As far as I know that should be doable, I think more so with Acrobat 8 Professional but I am not 100% sure about the process or if it can be done. I would think if you can place it into say a word file and have the calculator stuff work it would work within a pdf. You may need to actually code the buttons and create form elements to calculate what you need. I would try to create a form and have the form calculate the items.
Hope this helps, and let us know what you came up with.
- Halgar
- Approved Member
- Posts: 3510
- Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:34 pm
- Location: USA
- Has thanked: 138 times
- Been thanked: 172 times
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
Do what? With the huh? And it will huh?danglenode wrote:HI -
As far as I know that should be doable, I think more so with Acrobat 8 Professional but I am not 100% sure about the process or if it can be done. I would think if you can place it into say a word file and have the calculator stuff work it would work within a pdf. You may need to actually code the buttons and create form elements to calculate what you need. I would try to create a form and have the form calculate the items.
Hope this helps, and let us know what you came up with.


klavy69 wrote:... when I give you s&#t its a loan...I want it back!
- SoloGraphix
- Approved Member
- Posts: 203
- Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:25 pm
- Location: New F'n Jerzey!
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
Since Adobe now produces Dreamweaver, you might be able to save an HTML file out of the new dreamweaver as a PDF. Just a guess though.
- mikedealer
- Approved Member
- Posts: 1778
- Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:25 am
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
word perfect! yuck loL, only people i see using that nowadays is lawyers hehe
honestly i dont think acrobat 8 pro has any more features than 6-7 did, im looking at the new specs and i dont see anything at all for dynamic content.
there are a billion different calculator online and 90% of the time you can view the source and snag the code, and worst comes to worse they will save the code in a .js file and restrict permission to download it, but you can pull it from your temporary internet files and steal it that way lol. only reason i used flash was because Mac browsers were "crashing" when browsing with safari when they tried to calculate, dont ask me why lol
honestly i dont think acrobat 8 pro has any more features than 6-7 did, im looking at the new specs and i dont see anything at all for dynamic content.
there are a billion different calculator online and 90% of the time you can view the source and snag the code, and worst comes to worse they will save the code in a .js file and restrict permission to download it, but you can pull it from your temporary internet files and steal it that way lol. only reason i used flash was because Mac browsers were "crashing" when browsing with safari when they tried to calculate, dont ask me why lol
- Halgar
- Approved Member
- Posts: 3510
- Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:34 pm
- Location: USA
- Has thanked: 138 times
- Been thanked: 172 times
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
I don't see "pdf" as an option in the save file menu. There are some active content files, however, that Adobe may recognize. I won't know without looking at the readers abilities.SoloGraphix wrote:Since Adobe now produces Dreamweaver, you might be able to save an HTML file out of the new dreamweaver as a PDF. Just a guess though.
Wordperfect is better than MicroSux Word. There are other editors that might work a little better than WP, but they don't have "reveal codes", and anyone who does any amount of writing really needs this feature.mikedealer wrote:word perfect! yuck loL, only people i see using that nowadays is lawyers hehe
honestly i dont think acrobat 8 pro has any more features than 6-7 did, im looking at the new specs and i dont see anything at all for dynamic content.
there are a billion different calculator online and 90% of the time you can view the source and snag the code, and worst comes to worse they will save the code in a .js file and restrict permission to download it, but you can pull it from your temporary internet files and steal it that way lol. only reason i used flash was because Mac browsers were "crashing" when browsing with safari when they tried to calculate, dont ask me why lol
I snagged the code from the page that has the calculators I want and am saving that as an HTML file. Nifty trick for stuff you want to keep.
Thanks for all the suggestions so far, keep them coming guys, I greatly appreciate the help.
klavy69 wrote:... when I give you s&#t its a loan...I want it back!
- terry.sc
- Approved Member
- Posts: 896
- Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 4:58 pm
- Location: Stockport, UK
- Has thanked: 7 times
- Been thanked: 130 times
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
Acrobat is just a very useful document container format designed so that the document looks identical whatever operating system it is viewed on. The advantages of using pdfs is that you can control the permissions so you can control what the end user can do with it, such as print it or copy the text.
Pdfs are just static pages and they have no dynamic capabilities at all.
For something that can build a calculator in that acts as a standalone single document the ideal solution would probably be Adobe Director, but it's probably a bit over the top for what you want to use, although something built in Flash should be able to be run on just about any browser as its use is more widespread than Acrobat Reader.
Pdfs are just static pages and they have no dynamic capabilities at all.
For something that can build a calculator in that acts as a standalone single document the ideal solution would probably be Adobe Director, but it's probably a bit over the top for what you want to use, although something built in Flash should be able to be run on just about any browser as its use is more widespread than Acrobat Reader.
- Halgar
- Approved Member
- Posts: 3510
- Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:34 pm
- Location: USA
- Has thanked: 138 times
- Been thanked: 172 times
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
You're not helping, Terry!terry.sc wrote:Pdfs are just static pages and they have no dynamic capabilities at all.




klavy69 wrote:... when I give you s&#t its a loan...I want it back!
- Halgar
- Approved Member
- Posts: 3510
- Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:34 pm
- Location: USA
- Has thanked: 138 times
- Been thanked: 172 times
Re: Technogeeks Please Apply Within
New question:
If you have one cup of antifreeze solution that is say 40%, and you add 2 cups of water, what is the resultant strength of the antifreeze solution?
What is the formula for said calculation?
If you have one cup of antifreeze solution that is say 40%, and you add 2 cups of water, what is the resultant strength of the antifreeze solution?
What is the formula for said calculation?
klavy69 wrote:... when I give you s&#t its a loan...I want it back!
- JK Racing
- Approved Member
- Posts: 4618
- Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:32 pm
- Location: Placentia, CA
- Has thanked: 132 times
- Been thanked: 244 times
Re: Techno-guys Please Apply Within
1 cup = 8 oz
40 % of 8 oz = 3.2 oz antifreeze.
16 oz water + 4.8 oz water = 20.8 oz water to 3.2 oz antifreeze.
so 3.2 / 20.8 = .15 or 15%
I couldnt give you a formula if my life depended on it...been out of school waaayyyy to long for that.
40 % of 8 oz = 3.2 oz antifreeze.
16 oz water + 4.8 oz water = 20.8 oz water to 3.2 oz antifreeze.
so 3.2 / 20.8 = .15 or 15%
I couldnt give you a formula if my life depended on it...been out of school waaayyyy to long for that.
--Joey --
Vintage A&L and Factory Works
Old School Racer & Vintage RC Car nut
JKRacingRC.com
Vintage A&L and Factory Works
Old School Racer & Vintage RC Car nut
JKRacingRC.com
Create an account or sign in to join the discussion
You need to be a member in order to post a reply
Create an account
Not a member? register to join our community
Members can start their own topics & subscribe to topics
It’s free and only takes a minute
Sign in
-
- Similar Topics
- Replies
- Views
- Last post
-
- 9 Replies
- 1661 Views
-
Last post by RocketRob
-
- 5 Replies
- 834 Views
-
Last post by Momo5
-
- 1 Replies
- 732 Views
-
Last post by DennisM
-
- 12 Replies
- 909 Views
-
Last post by tizeye
-
- 23 Replies
- 2838 Views
-
Last post by scr8p
-
- 21 Replies
- 2602 Views
-
Last post by Lowgear
-
- 3 Replies
- 1003 Views
-
Last post by GJW
-
- 12 Replies
- 1973 Views
-
Last post by Lowgear
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Halgar and 6 guests