1/5 RC10 - RC5 Team Build

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

JackOTrades

1/5 RC10 - RC5 Team Build

Post by JackOTrades »

This is my first project posting on this forum. If this is the wrong section, please move it to the correct section.

I enjoy doing custom builds dsigning and fabricating custom parts. I have a decent amount of capabilities within my shop including CNC machining, manual machining, 3D printing. I also have a Youtube channel Jack-O-Trades where I try to share as much of my work as possible

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAu03Sak7Li6zeDqgFs9XBg

I have done a lot of "extreme" custom builds from 1/10 scale to 1/5 scale but I have never made a car from scratch. One idea that I had was to take an iconic buggy and make a 1/5 scale version of that car. I held a poll on my channel with a choice between the following

Losi JRX2
Yokomo YZ-10
AE Gold-pan RC10
Tamiya BBX

I realize the BBX is not iconic but it is pretty unique and provides the opportunity for some interesting fabrication techniques in scaling it to 1/5. All of these buggies offer unique and interesting fabrication opportunities. Short story long, the RC10 won the poll as to what car to build.

Here is a video outlining my original idea for this project

https://youtu.be/HPmOC-H09ik?si=bjxXUh3mWZ57DykM