My Yokomo story.....Yokomo no 1..870c

The place for all things Yokomo.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

flustorm99
Approved Member

My Yokomo story.....Yokomo no 1..870c

Post by flustorm99 »

Hi been reading and looking at a lot of the posts here in the Yokomo forum, seen a lot of nice cars, a lot of new ideas, a lot of good ideas for restoration and have picked up a heap of tricks you guys have learnt and mastered over the years (thanks!!)

I am a bit of a novice and have no where near the experience you guys have but have enjoyed working out what i have, realising what I have isnt what I thought I had and going from there...which means rebuilding my cars a few times!

So the first Yoke I had and bought about 24 years ago is a YZ870c, I took it out of the box after 20 years (stupid me forgot to take the batteries out but luckily there was no damage) and what you see it pretty much what I packed away all those years ago...I did give it a bit of a clean but didn't really over haul it (but I will ) and only really run it on the road.

Bought a new shell and undertray from TBG and was slightly pissed that it didn't quite fit that well...

SO out of the box after a quick clean came this...( I did buy a new motor mount but the fit was a little too tight for this car so I whacked it a different one)...a little bit of glue on the chassis which I managed to get of later..(after I learnt how from you guys)
IMG_2729.jpg
and this was the original shell and wing...which I had tried to get the paint off for obvious reasons...!
IMG_2747.jpg
IMG_2730.jpg
IMG_2731.jpg
IMG_2732.jpg
excuse the hinge pin it was the only spare I had after the original was bent...+ it was for a pavidis ( I know now) and didn't know it would be too long then as I new nothing about the cars...
IMG_2733.jpg
IMG_2738.jpg
Then with the new shell and some new JC racing wheels (thanks to listening to one of stickboy007's vids..) it looked like this
IMG_2824.jpg