Hobbywing XR10 Pro G2 Failure

Brushless, lipo, spectrum, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Basher67
Approved Member

Hobbywing XR10 Pro G2 Failure

Post by Basher67 »

I've been using various Hobbywing esc's for a couple years now and have been a big fan of their products. My No prep street eliminator drag car is powered with the latest hobbywing XR10 Pro G2 with the wifi module I purchased and installed it less than 3 months ago and absolutely loved it. It's powering my Fantom 4.5t Icon V2 motor. Everything performed flawlessly until our last list race about 2 weeks ago. During one race, at the launch, the car had a "hiccup" off the line. Amost like the 2 step you get when a sensor wire has gone bad. I checked the sensor wire and the throttle response of the car as soon as I got back to the pit and everything appeared to be fine. I finished out the day of racing with no more issues. As many of you know, we've had some serious fires over here in Oregon and the air quality has been horrible. It finally started clearing up a bit here in Medford and I took the opportunity to do some test hits with my car at my favorite spot. My daughter was doing super slo-mo videos of my car at launch to test the grip of various brands and tire compounds. On the third set of tires, after a short carpet burnout, I set the car at the line, pulled the throttle, and------nothing. I took the car back to my tailgate pit area and inspected everything. Nothing was obvious except there was some kind of major failure with the esc. I unplugged everything until I got home and started to go through every type of test I could think of. Replaced the sensor wire, wired up a different motor----no change. Also the esc problem was not consistent. At one point, after resetting all the throttle end points, it refused to turn off with the switch. I had to unplug it. After coming up with no solution, I decided to take it to my hobby shop which is a hobbywing dealer. When I soldered back up the fantom mot