battery packs

Brushless, lipo, spectrum, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Badillac
Approved Member

battery packs

Post by Badillac »

Okay, so I'm looking at my battery pack here, the first pack I've bought in like 15-20 years, and I'm thinking about what the guy in the hobby shop was trying to tell me. I can't remember what he was saying about older batteries vs. Nimh batteries, all I know is he was trying to sell me a $75 battery for a $63 car. So I bought an el-cheapo $11.99 Trinity Patriot 1500 mah 7.2V. Hey, it was twelve bucks, what do ya want from me? I charge it, it works, but doesn't seem to last very long (I haven't timed it, but less than 13 minutes I imagine).
Can someone explain to me (in english), cuz I am relatively new to this, (and electrically unschooled) the meaning and benefits of Nimh battery numbers. I read in a magazine that I should go with a battery that's 4200 or higher, but I don't know what that means. Sure I can go buy a pack that is exactly what the magazine says, but I'd like to know why I'm doing it. And what of voltage. I'm leary of putting newer technology higher voltage stuff in my RC10 that has a motor/speed controller/reciever from 1984. What are the do's and don'ts with mixing older tech electrics with new tech power?
Thanks.
RC's are like ****'s... everyone has one... some are just more torn up then others.

aconsola
Approved Member

Re: battery packs

Post by aconsola »

The publications and the shops push the 4200+ batteries since that is what makes money. How much profit can there be in a $12 stick pack?
The latest and greatest cells will provide better voltage under use. Both the $75 and $12 battery should have roughly the same voltage at rest. The expensive one will maintain that voltage better When a load is placed on it. The cheaper packs drop their voltage down quite a bit when under a load such as accelerating from a stop. This gives less power.