Brushless ESC/Motor Mix and Match?

Brushless, lipo, spectrum, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

HS-YZ250

Brushless ESC/Motor Mix and Match?

Post by HS-YZ250 »

I'm thinking about re-powering my old LXT and JRX Pro SE with brushless power. But, other than the Le Mans motor/esc I just got for my Rocky (which I've not hooked up yet), I have no experience with brushless systems.

The big question I have is if brushless ESC's and motors are universal. As in, can I use any ESC with a brushless motor? Maybe going back about 10 years?

Reason I ask is I'm going to look for used motors and ESC's to try and stick with some kind of theme I haven't fully settled on, and also don't want to spend $350 on one of the systems I saw in a brief search.

One idea for a theme was to look for a Novak ESC and a brightly colored Trinity Motor, like you would find with Factory Losi's in the 90's. I'm favoring style with the motor because that was one of my favorite aspects of RC cars back when I raced; eye catching motors, and looks like most are black these days. And I don't need the most powerful motor to run my vintage stuff around for fun, once in a while. Wish I could get a Race Prep, but saw they didn't survive into the brushless years.

Here's one I was looking at: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Trinity-RevTech-17-5T-1-10-540-Sensored-Brushless-Racing-Motor/284036607421?_trkparms=aid%3D777001%26algo%3DDISCO.FEED%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20200211172457%26meid%3D8565404abe644a0f81a427e31963397a%26pid%3D101213%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D1%26mehot%3Dnone%26itm%3D284036607421%26pmt%3D0%26noa%3D1%26pg%3D2380057%26algv%3DRecommendingSearch%26brand%3DTrinity&_trksid=p2380057.c101213.m46344&_trkparms=pageci%3A2374cd6c-0a84-11eb-8d43-6678b8036b93%7Cparentrq%3A0f9e1a921750a77d3d12c48ffff5dc0c%7Ciid%3A1