Buying a PS3, tips?

Feel free to discuss anything NON-R/C related that is on your mind.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Bimdapogs
Approved Member

Buying a PS3, tips?

Post by Bimdapogs »

Hey guys,
I'm a total noob on the current gaming consoles. Had a PS2 moons ago, but didn't play it much I gave it to my brother.

My video player broke a week ago and instead of just getting a new Blu-Ray player, I thought why not get a PS3 "that does everything". I'm thinking the 160GB Slim PS3.

I'm looking for tips. Dos and don'ts? Software tweaks? I see games are pricey, are there ways to go around that like what was/being done on PSPs?

Anything that you can share is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Eau Rouge
Approved Member

Re: Buying a PS3, tips?

Post by Eau Rouge »

I did the same thing, and bought a PS3 a coupe of years ago to "do everything." I'm not a huge console gamer—I play Tiger Woods golf, a few EA sports games, Rock Band, Guitar Hero, and maybe Gran Tourismo if I am in the mood for abuse.

If I had it to do over again, I wouldn't make that a factor in my purchase. I would still probably buy a PS3 over the other consoles, but don't expect it to be a great BlueRay player. Mine sounds like a Harrier Jump Jet ready for take-off when it's playing movies—BlueRay or DVD. I can't get the thing to run cool as a move player, and even if it is out on an open video unit with plenty of air circulating around it, it still runs with crazy stupid fan speeds. And I'm using a USB laptop cooling fan underneath it, too.

BlueRay looks spectacular on it, and standard DVDs play at a much sharper picture than a regular DVD player. Given the chance, I'll pick up a solo BlueRay player to add into my system when I have the chance and let the game console do what it is supposed to do.