Newish to Forum Reinvigorated in RC10's

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

creeker
Approved Member

Newish to Forum Reinvigorated in RC10's

Post by creeker »

I guess a little intro is in order. First RC Kit car was the blackfoot. Unfortunately I no longer have the blackfoot, think I got sick of fixing the rear drive shafts which I stripped on a regular basis. From there I wanted something better and what was better than RC10 back in the mid 80's? I played with the car for several years, losing pieces here and there I guess. I went into storage for several years, then I started playing with a Nitro Rustler for a while and the buggy came back out for a small stint. They both went back into storage for about 9 years until I moved and my son got his first play RC car. Watching him play I decided what fun it would be to get my Rustler out again and play. Started playing with the Rustler which led me back to the RC10. Just after that I found this forum and had a great time reading up on the history of the RC10 and then became amazed at the community of people that restore use these great cars. Since my 10 is an old 6 gear running a 12t brushed motor I figured I would need another car to maybe convert to brushless. I began trolling ebay and saw a guy selling an RC10 buggy converted into a truck. As I looked more at it noticed it was running a stealth transmission and was only a truck because of the wheel and tire size. Placed a bid and won for $55 shipped. Now I am in the process of restoring and cleaning both cars. As I was playing today with the new car which has no wing tubes installed I decided to pull them from my original car and noticed they are identical to the nose brace tubes just cut shorter. I will be getting a set of nose tubes and cutting them down to give them a try and the I need to get some new bodies and wings. Finally building out my order from tower for screws and other misc hardware to complete both cars. We