Chrome / Nickel Plating Recommendations?

Feel free to discuss anything NON-R/C related that is on your mind.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

mikedealer
Approved Member

Chrome / Nickel Plating Recommendations?

Post by mikedealer »

I am working on a tube chassis for my cars here. i broke out my old mig last month and picked up practically the whole case of K&S Tubing from my LHS, and made myself a nice tube chassis for the B4. Soon to come i will strip down one of my original rc10's and make a tuber for that too since im still in the welding mood and my fingertips are still in tact and not burnt too much from welding/grinding lol (i hate gloves lol). im studying the one from the reader's ride section right now to see hows its layed out.

Anyone interested in purchasing something like these if i start producing them on a production basis? they are extremely labor intensive but i think i can mass produce them with the help from a friend, he would bend/cut bars, i would assemble/weld. the chasis's will look similiar to this but have side bars that stick out like a normal rc10 chassis and no shock towers are needed. Since they are pretty labor intensive i was thinking about charging $150 a peice in raw form or plated for whatever it costs me for shipping/handling.

http://www.e-customconnect.com/InetRC/Album/RC10TubeFrame2/RC10Tube2_04.jpg

Anyway, anyone have any good places to send out for plating? i like nickel plating for some reason, just gives it a nice shine i think, but will go chrome also. Any websites or contact info will be great, i will probably send out when the 2nd chassis is completed in a week or two.

Ill get some pictures up here once my digital camera is mailed back to my from olympus, flash exploded on me one day for no reason lol, mailed it back for warranty

I live in westbury long island/new york btw, any local places would be great, the few places i called kinda laughed at me and gave me $1-200 pricing

asashaw
Approved Member

i want one