Beginner XX questions

The place for all things Losi.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

rcdaddy

Beginner XX questions

Post by rcdaddy »

Hello guys, I've been racing carpet oval for about a year now and decided to try my hand at offroad racing. I found out my local track has a vintage class. That got my heart racing and I immediatly started looking for a XX. My first real RC was a Losi XX I bought right after I graduated in 1993, man I loved that car. So now I have a XX I am cleaning and rebuilding, and I have lots of questions.

The class is 27 turn brushed or 17.5 blinky, 7.4 lipo is allowed, modern wheels and tires. The track is loamy and loose, more of an old school track. Not hard packed and high traction like modern tracks. I'd like to run brushless for low maintenance. Do to the loose track I'd like to run the hydra-drive. I don't know much about gearing so is there enough room with an 84 spur to gear the car for loose conditions or would I be better off running a dual slipper with a smaller spur and not the hydra-drive? What is a good starting pinion for either setup?

I want to run the stock wheels what tires would you recommend for loose conditions that would fit?

And my last question for now is what spares do I need to carry with me at the track.

Thank you for any help. I love this site, I think I've found a new home and a new obsession.
Randy

rcdaddy

Re: Beginner XX questions

Post by rcdaddy »

Here are the pics before I tore it down.

kaiser
Approved Member

Post by kaiser »

those old x patterns will work pretty well in the loose stuff.
can also try step pins or jconcepts goosebumps.
a fresh set of ribbed tires up front should work fine, i like jconcepts "groovys".

i haven't run a xx since 93/94 myself but i never broke a damn thing on it that season so i can't recomend spares, but a set of a-arms is always a good idea to have with ya.

THUNDERSTRIKE1
Approved Member

Post by THUNDERSTRIKE1 »