B4 durability

For all things R/C, post '90s to today.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

scr8p
Administrator

B4 durability

Post by scr8p »

Can they take a lickin' and keep on tickin'? I was thinking about getting one for my kid for Christmas. He can wheel an R/C very well, so it's not gonna be hammered on. I'm just looking for some input.

Moggie XL
Approved Member

Re: B4 durability

Post by Moggie XL »

I've been racing one since 2003.The weakest point seems to be the front shock tower.I've snapped 2 or 3 and a few wishbones but nothing major.At the end of the day if you crash badly enough it will break but it's not fragile.

JK Racing

Post by JK Racing »

they can take a beating as any other 2wd race car...i raced one for a season, didnt break a single part, passed it on to my son (5) he ended up breaking a front shock tower and a front carrier. not bad for 4 packs on a pretty technical slippery track. are you thinking RTR? it "gives" a bit more than the FT version, just upgrade the front hinge brace to the FT one, and turnbuckles if you need to, but i still have the steel ones on his car.
--Joey --
Vintage A&L and Factory Works
Old School Racer & Vintage RC Car nut
JKRacingRC.com

scr8p
Administrator

Post by scr8p »

i was thinking about the "team" kit. i want him to build it, not just pull it out of a box and go play. i have off of work the whole week after christmas, so it'd be like a father/son thing, but i'll just be supervising. :wink:

templeofspeed
Approved Member

Post by templeofspeed »

Why not? Do the Team kit...if he's a good driver, as you say, it should be an awesome father/son deal. Dig up some older stock motors and learn him about brushes, oiling bushings, etc while you're at it. If it was a few years from now there wouldn't be any brushed motors to learn about...

Good dad!

8)

wyldbill
Approved Member

Post by wyldbill »