New Gold Tub Owner Setting Up For Oval Racing.

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

everything_rc

New Gold Tub Owner Setting Up For Oval Racing.

Post by everything_rc »

Can anyone offer basic suggestions for the set-up of a RC10 Gold Tub, with Stealth Tranny, 27 Turn Motor and 6 cell pack on a small clay oval track. With old school Coupe body.

What I'm planning.

Placing cells on left side of tub. (what balance is ideal left/right and front/back)
Custom Works Foam tires gray front, silver rear
Associated Dual Sport shocks (new hole on tower).
Will spring the front right tire stiffer than others

I have 20 deg. and 30 deg. front block carrier. Which to use???

Thanks for any help you can offer I'm new to this chassis and dirt oval racing.

Eau Rouge
Approved Member

Re: New Gold Tub Owner Setting Up For Oval Racing.

Post by Eau Rouge »

If I may offer my suggestions for just starting out at a new track with a new car...
  • • Don't use offset weight at all on a car with no wings or downforce... and even then, you probably don't need it. Line everything up on the centerline of the car and make it as balanced as possible. Left side biased cars can be difficult to drive, countersteer and maneuver in traffic.
  • • Don't use different compound or material tires on the front & rear. Pick a compound that everyone at the track runs and use it on both. Pinks are a good starting place for both F/R, and silvers are good, too, but potentially too soft in certain situations. There are foam, foam rubber and exotic foam compounds, and it's best to not mix the types right off the bat. I think grey and silvers would be mixing.
  • • Personally, I don't like a lot of caster in oval cars. If given the choice between 20° and 30° blocks, I'd take the 20s, but I'm partial to 0° - 15° of caster. A rear-motor car will push a LOT anyway on a clay track, so you are going to need the car to TURN, and it will need minimal caster to do that.