Long lost Member needs help (Welder to Fuse Box/Panel)!!!

Feel free to discuss anything NON-R/C related that is on your mind.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

MONSTER
Approved Member

Long lost Member needs help (Welder to Fuse Box/Panel)!!!

Post by MONSTER »

Hey Guys!!! Long time no see (type). lol

In my pursuit of other interest, I recently scored a 220v Welding Machine.
My Fuse Box (Cardboard Tube and Glass Screw-in Fuses), is only about 3-4 feet from the back door, so I figure I'll just wire a recepticle from the box/panel, with a few feet of wire (have 6-3 wire, and proper recepticle) so I can run it out the door, and weld on the patio. Im not an Electrician, but I know the risk (fire, injury, etc), Im "reasonably" inteligent (no comments from the peanut gallery Halgar!!! :lol: ) and careful, and dont want to pay someone to do it. Im sure Ive seen household electrical threads on here before, and figured someone could walk me through it.

I'd sure appreciate the help. Ive had the welder a week, and am anxious to start stickin some metal together.

AscotConversion
Approved Member

Re: Long lost Member needs help (Welder to Fuse Box/Panel)!!

Post by AscotConversion »

What is the amp rating on the welder? You are going to need 2 hots to get 220v from the panel. You have a fuse panel, which is a little different than a breaker panel to set this up. I don't know if you're going to find glass fuses in the rating you may need, so you may have to do something different. With a receptacle, again, make sure you get something that will be rated for the amp draw. Worse come to worst, you may need to come off of the buss. I have seen a lot of guys who do wood floors or terrazzo refinishing clamp to the buss with big alligator clips...not safe, but I don't know exactly what you have.

If you burn your house down, I never posted :mrgreen:

Halgar
Approved Member

Post by Halgar »