RC10B diff problem

General info, Q&A.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

gnat

RC10B diff problem

Post by gnat »

I bought an RC10 a long time ago, played with it for awhile and then forgot about it. It got unearthed again while cleaning the basement and other than a battery that leaked in the remote, all was good and I started playing with it again with my son.

I've never done anything to care for it and it has just kept rocking along. Until this week.

I smacked a bush good enough that I broke one of the front a arms, but a zip tie got that fixed.

While out testing that fix the gear box started making an intermit grinding noise. I figured a gear was going and I might as well run it until it was dead. It finally made a horrid noise and then the motor would just spin. Turned out that the screws holding the gear to the clutch had worked out. After I put the gear back on, all was good.

Then I made my cardninal sin, I bought new parts (springs and some e clips)!

Took it out today and the gear box sounded like it was grinding and as soon as it met resistance off road it would stop and the noise would get worse.

I took the gearbox completely apart and there is no sign of wear or debris. The diff was rough to spin so I opened it up too and again everything looks good.

Put the box together and it spun fine, but sounded horrible. When I reassembled the car and took it outside, it won't move at all even on pavement. Just ugly noises.

Anyone have any ideas what might be going on and how to fix it?

Thanks,
-dave

RC104ever
Approved Member

Re: RC10B diff problem

Post by RC104ever »

First off, welcome to the board!

Second, it's hard to say without seeing it but I'd start by isolating and eliminating the obvious.