Need vintage motor advice please

Brushed, nicad, radios, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

ELF-BMX

Need vintage motor advice please

Post by ELF-BMX »

Okay im new to the vintage side of this hobby so i need help. Im going to be building a stadium truck ( rc10,JrxT,lxt, etc.) i need recommendations for a modified motor. Im going to be sport racing no expert racing, with that said i still want to go very fast somthing equal to a modern modified 8.5t brushless, thanks for the help.

jwscab

Re: Need vintage motor advice please

Post by jwscab »

I think you would be severely disappointed with a brushed motor trying to be comparable to an 8.5 turn brushless motor. You can get some really low brushed motors, like 8 or 9 turn, but they are super temperamental and will require good gearing and a watchful eye on temps, along with frequent rebuilds. You definitely will not be able to run them long periods of time, like 6-8 or more minute races....

you could easily run an 8.5turn brushless motor in an rc10t stealth, although again, with large tires and high power, you will be after the trans often. Making sure the slipper is set correctly and keeping an eye on preventing diff slipping.

as for the jrx or lxt trans, if you are planning on running the LRM trans, you would need to build it up with at least a metal diff gear and modern slipper. you can run the retrofit trans without issue though I think. I'm not an expert but it is an upgrade in durability.

ELF-BMX

Post by ELF-BMX »

jwscab wrote: Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:47 pm I think you would be severely disappointed with a brushed motor trying to be comparable to an 8.5 turn brushless motor. You can get some really low brushed motors, like 8 or 9 turn, but they are super temperamental and will require good gearing and a watchful eye on temps, along with frequent rebuilds. You definitely will not be able to run them long periods of time, like 6-8 or more minute races....