Just another Andy’s Pro buggy build thread

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Shane301
Approved Member

Just another Andy’s Pro buggy build thread

Post by Shane301 »

IMG_0842.jpeg
I’m new to the whole build thread thing but I like this car enough that it should be fun to document.

I’ve been collecting Andy’s parts for a while and have several builds near completion. This one I thought was complete until I saw last years BOTY winner and the effort that went into it. I decided I would tear this car down and give it the attention it deserves.

The new build list so far consists or
Andy’s pro molded buggy chassis kit parts acquired individually.
I decided to change it up a little and use H arms on the rear since the kit came with both H arms and Trailing arms along with the appropriate shock towers. I will be doing an Andy’s S&K Pro graphite build with the trailing arms after this one.

The chassis came drilled for 6 gear only so I will put an MIP SP1 transmission in it with the upgraded HD ball diff and A&L slipper assembly. I have also sourced a set of Delrin gears for the top shaft and idler. Hopefully arriving in the next week or so.

TPS lightweight screw kit plus Tecnacraft screws for the upper shock mounts. Nuts and washers through out are holeshot aluminum. Ball studs are all HG titanium. Hinge pins are Tecnacraft titanium with the exception of the rear inners which are RPM steel because of the extra width of the rear arms.

If anyone knows of or has a titanium hinge pin that will work on the wider arms I’d love to keep this build 100% free of RPm Also the pack of hingepins had a small hole and wouldn’t you know it… the 2 inner front pins were missing.

All eclipse will be replaced with RCPS #510 retaining clips. I went through several sets of circle pliers before I found a set that would work with these little…things.