'85 Gold Pan Resto-Mod...Need Some Advice Here!

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

VINTAGE10

'85 Gold Pan Resto-Mod...Need Some Advice Here!

Post by VINTAGE10 »

Hey, all! First time on the site...and this seems like the place I wanna be. I just unearthed my RC10 from the attic and I want to bring it back to life. But better...faster...stonger! The car will run as is. It is in complete original form, along with three piece wheels and Team Associated rubber. Technically, all I would have to do to have some fun is throw in a charged battery and go. But I want to mount up a new brushless system and make it ballistic. First, I need to know if I will have to do any mods to use modern 2.2 wheels/tires(i.e. axle diameter, drive pins, etc.). Secondly, drivetrain...will the original 6-gear stand up to a wicked brushless motor or am I looking at a meltdown if I try that? If I need to upgrade to a Stealth(which I have no experience with at all), what is the shortest route to completing that mod so I can bolt in the brushless and rip? If there are any other concerns I am overlooking here, please give me a heads-up! When I went down to my LHS to research this, I was sorely disappointed at their response. Those guys actually told me that it would be too much of a PIA and that I might as well just buy a new buggy! Blasphemy!!! Needless to say, I am eager to get this baby back in shape and relive that rush I had 20 years ago! Thanks in advance for any help you may have to offer... :wink:

scr8p
Administrator

Re: '85 Gold Pan Resto-Mod...Need Some Advice Here!

Post by scr8p »

get a 2.25 stealth. you can find complete used ones on ebay.