Deans connectors

Brushless, lipo, spectrum, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Dusted

Deans connectors

Post by Dusted »

I am a newbie in RCs and Li-Pos, I only ran NiCds in the past and very little of that. I am just finishing cleaning and restoring (not full restore just bearings etc) my RC10T and I just got my first Li-Po batteries (Gens Ace 4000mAh 25C #2S1P) and a set of Deans Ultra plugs Part#1300.
My question is the Deans seem very small when compared to the Li-Po battery wires. First of all is it OK to replace the connectors on LiPos and did I get the wrong connectors are there bigger Deans that I should have bought instead or are these OK even with the size difference.
Thank you and I have been enjoying reading all the information here on the site especially the 10T section.

8rad
Approved Member

Re: Deans connectors

Post by 8rad »

The Deans are great and will handle the power. They can be tricky to solder though. A third hand really helps to hold the plug and the wire for soldering. Also, be careful not to heat the solder tabs too much as you can melt the plastic quite easily.
"It's not broken, it's British!"

jwscab

Post by jwscab »

couple of tricks for deans connectors:

whichever end you are soldering, mate up a matching connector so that the other connector will keep the soldered pins located(they won't melt and twist and move around). This also gives you more material to hold onto.

Grab it with a vice or lay flat on a bench with something heavy on top.

tin both pins with some solder and the iron, and do the same for the wires.

add heat shrink over wires and move as far back as possible.

for the next steps, do both steps for ONE WIRE at a time, doing it this way, the heat shrink on the first wire will prevent accidental shorts: