Shorty LiPo packs- what's the downside?

Brushless, lipo, spectrum, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Bottom Feeder
Approved Member

Shorty LiPo packs- what's the downside?

Post by Bottom Feeder »

As the title says, are there any downsides to buying shorty LiPo packs? I'm pretty new to LiPo batteries and have them figured out well enough, but I'm having a hard time understanding something. If a battery pack can be made to do the same job in a smaller package, why wouldn't everyone buy and use them? If it's a lot easier to fit a smaller battery into a model, which would give you the option to move it around (or at least fore and aft) to alter the handling significantly, then why are 'regular' packs so common and shorties somewhat rare? They are obviously shorter, but are they taller/thicker? What am I missing?

I'm going to start replacing the NiCd/NiMh packs I have (and electronics where necessary) with some decent LiPo sport packs. So assuming costs are not much higher, why wouldn't I buy shorty packs for their versatility?

Coelacanth
Approved Member

Re: Shorty LiPo packs- what's the downside?

Post by Coelacanth »

I guess for all their advantages, it's possible for a car to be too light. What I've been reading about modern pan cars is that, with the lighter chassis and electrics nowadays, they actually can be more prone to flip over than when battery packs were heavier and helped to keep them planted. A lighter car that catches airflow under the body is more likely to go airborne than a heavier car, all else being equal.
Completed projects: CYANide Onroad Optima | Zebra Gold Optima | Barney Optima | OptiMutt RWD Mid
Gallery - Coel's Stalls: Marui Galaxy & Shogun Resto-Mods | FrankenBuff AYK Buffalo | 1987 Buick GNX RC12L3

kaiser
Approved Member

Post by kaiser »