how to cut a body shell

Show off your paintwork, tips/tricks, decals, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

edwin pibal
Approved Member

how to cut a body shell

Post by edwin pibal »

Hi guys, I have been cutting out shells for 20 years now, but the thing I ALWAYS get wrong and stuff is when the body goes over the rear shock tower and clears the shocks

is there a trick to this ? or should I go back to my touring car bodys ;)

ed
Hi, my name is Ed, and im a addict.

slapshot1979
Approved Member

Re: how to cut a body shell

Post by slapshot1979 »

I use lexan scissors to rough out area and then a dremel to finish off.
Sleeps with a night light on, not because he's scared of the dark but because the dark is scared of him...........stay thirsty my friends

DaveM
Approved Member

Post by DaveM »

Hi Guys,

I am a complete amateur but on large curves in the wheels arches, after I cut them out I use a

small glass wrapped in wet and dry sandpaper to get nice curves.

On large straight areas after cut out I use the same sandpaper on the bench to get it nicely straight.

+ 1 on curved scissors but I bought a set of cheap nail scissors there were three in the packet 1

straight and 2 curved, they work well and were cheap!

Cheers, DaveM

edwin pibal
Approved Member

Post by edwin pibal »

slapshot1979 wrote:I use lexan scissors to rough out area and then a dremel to finish off.

what sort of bit do you use ?

ed

shodog
Approved Member

Post by shodog »

I gave up scissors long ago and use an exacto blade. Lightly score the plastic then bend and snap. I use a Dremel to clean up the curves

slapshot1979
Approved Member

Post by slapshot1979 »

1/4 sanding drum
Sleeps with a night light on, not because he's scared of the dark but because the dark is scared of him...........stay thirsty my friends

TRX-1-3

Post by TRX-1-3 »

Howdy,