If I had a 3D printer…

The place to be for printing in 3D.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

User avatar
silvertriple
Approved Member
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 2:31 pm
Location: France, Isere
Has thanked: 571 times
Been thanked: 781 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by silvertriple »

So many things you can do with a 3D printer....
I won't post any picture here. I remember when I bought my first printer. Some of my friends or colleagues were telling me "but why?"
I had a vision, and it is quite simple: you can see a 3D printer is the future. First it is a meta tool : a tool that can create other tools (I have so many examples in this area, some that I don't even talk in my 3D printed thread) and custom fixations.
And then the replacement parts : as long as you know to model there is no limitation to what you can do, and even if a FDM printer can't do, other process maybe able to do...
At some point 3D printed parts will replace parts in the repair category as it will ease the logistics even for manufacturer. It is just question of time for this to happen.

Ultimately, 3D printer is the future for many hobby activities, and today, you can even find good printer for approximateively the cost of a new rc kit, the only thing you have to do is to jump in the train...
I buy kits to build and ru(i)n them :-)

User avatar
mAdMan
Approved Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 11:30 pm
Location: Oak Hills, California
Has thanked: 158 times
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by mAdMan »

Ask and you shall receive. My brother dropped this “trash” off on Wednesday. Just wild.

Image

User avatar
Dangeruss
Approved Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2023 4:47 pm
Location: L.A.---me---N.Y.C.
Has thanked: 108 times
Been thanked: 445 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by Dangeruss »

mAdMan wrote: Thu Feb 29, 2024 3:33 am Lastly, do you know how much muff you’ll pull by simply mounting Ronal Turbos on a Fiat 500?
Yes... less than would if you mounted a set of Ronal Teddy Bears. :wink:

User avatar
mAdMan
Approved Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 11:30 pm
Location: Oak Hills, California
Has thanked: 158 times
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by mAdMan »

Dangeruss wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 4:26 pm
mAdMan wrote: Thu Feb 29, 2024 3:33 am Lastly, do you know how much muff you’ll pull by simply mounting Ronal Turbos on a Fiat 500?
Yes... less than would if you mounted a set of Ronal Teddy Bears. :wink:
You might be right though if you are looking for a “modern” lady. I’ve seen those before. I rememeber a really hot girl in high school with a pink celica that had yellow flower wheels with pink center caps 😂

User avatar
mAdMan
Approved Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 11:30 pm
Location: Oak Hills, California
Has thanked: 158 times
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by mAdMan »

If anyone was gonna buy a new laptop what would you get? My windows 7 Sony vaio machine is not going to run the printer sadly.

User avatar
Frankentruck
Super Member
Posts: 2440
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2021 2:59 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Has thanked: 1464 times
Been thanked: 1638 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by Frankentruck »

That printer needs a computer to run?
Frankensteined RC10T3 / Franky Jr RC10GT-e (x2) / A+ stamp / Toy Story RC / Graphite replica / B1.5 BFG 5LTi / Clonewald / Hyper Hornet

"I love the effort, but it sure looks like you took the long way around to a tub again"

Dadio
Approved Member
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 6:21 pm
Location: Guildford UK
Has thanked: 2192 times
Been thanked: 1933 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by Dadio »

Frankentruck wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:36 pm That printer needs a computer to run?
The slicer software is on computer not the printer , it takes a solid shape and Slices it into layers and sets a rout for the printer to follow to print each layer , this is then exported as a G code file to the printer
If a jobs not worth doing then its certainly not worth doing well.
A problem shared is a problem halved but an advantage shared is no advantage at all.

User avatar
Frankentruck
Super Member
Posts: 2440
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2021 2:59 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Has thanked: 1464 times
Been thanked: 1638 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by Frankentruck »

Dadio wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:43 pm
Frankentruck wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:36 pm That printer needs a computer to run?
The slicer software is on computer not the printer , it takes a solid shape and Slices it into layers and sets a rout for the printer to follow to print each layer , this is then exported as a G code file to the printer
Yes, the slicer software is on a standalone computer.

I'm not familiar with the model of printer he has. His statement about needing a computer to run it sounds like a computer is doing more than just processing the stl file.
Frankensteined RC10T3 / Franky Jr RC10GT-e (x2) / A+ stamp / Toy Story RC / Graphite replica / B1.5 BFG 5LTi / Clonewald / Hyper Hornet

"I love the effort, but it sure looks like you took the long way around to a tub again"

Dadio
Approved Member
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 6:21 pm
Location: Guildford UK
Has thanked: 2192 times
Been thanked: 1933 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by Dadio »

Frankentruck wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:18 pm
Dadio wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:43 pm
Frankentruck wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:36 pm That printer needs a computer to run?
The slicer software is on computer not the printer , it takes a solid shape and Slices it into layers and sets a rout for the printer to follow to print each layer , this is then exported as a G code file to the printer
Yes, the slicer software is on a standalone computer.

I'm not familiar with the model of printer he has. His statement about needing a computer to run it sounds like a computer is doing more than just processing the stl file.
The other answer is CAD software , if he's designing parts then you need a CAD package of some sort and it takes a fairly good computer to run that kind of software , slicers don't need a great computer but CAD programs do .
If a jobs not worth doing then its certainly not worth doing well.
A problem shared is a problem halved but an advantage shared is no advantage at all.

User avatar
Frankentruck
Super Member
Posts: 2440
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2021 2:59 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Has thanked: 1464 times
Been thanked: 1638 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by Frankentruck »

Dadio wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:33 pm
Frankentruck wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:18 pm
Dadio wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:43 pm
Frankentruck wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:36 pm That printer needs a computer to run?
The slicer software is on computer not the printer , it takes a solid shape and Slices it into layers and sets a rout for the printer to follow to print each layer , this is then exported as a G code file to the printer
Yes, the slicer software is on a standalone computer.

I'm not familiar with the model of printer he has. His statement about needing a computer to run it sounds like a computer is doing more than just processing the stl file.
The other answer is CAD software , if he's designing parts then you need a CAD package of some sort and it takes a fairly good computer to run that kind of software , slicers don't need a great computer but CAD programs do .
This statement doesn't sound like it's referring to slicer or CAD software:

"My windows 7 Sony vaio machine is not going to run the printer sadly."
Frankensteined RC10T3 / Franky Jr RC10GT-e (x2) / A+ stamp / Toy Story RC / Graphite replica / B1.5 BFG 5LTi / Clonewald / Hyper Hornet

"I love the effort, but it sure looks like you took the long way around to a tub again"

Dadio
Approved Member
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 6:21 pm
Location: Guildford UK
Has thanked: 2192 times
Been thanked: 1933 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by Dadio »

Frankentruck wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:36 pm
Dadio wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:33 pm
Frankentruck wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:18 pm
Dadio wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:43 pm
Frankentruck wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:36 pm That printer needs a computer to run?
The slicer software is on computer not the printer , it takes a solid shape and Slices it into layers and sets a rout for the printer to follow to print each layer , this is then exported as a G code file to the printer
Yes, the slicer software is on a standalone computer.

I'm not familiar with the model of printer he has. His statement about needing a computer to run it sounds like a computer is doing more than just processing the stl file.
The other answer is CAD software , if he's designing parts then you need a CAD package of some sort and it takes a fairly good computer to run that kind of software , slicers don't need a great computer but CAD programs do .
This statement doesn't sound like it's referring to slicer or CAD software:

"My windows 7 Sony vaio machine is not going to run the printer sadly."
It's possible the printer is a dinosaur that relies on a computer but then it must be nearly 20 years old ?
If a jobs not worth doing then its certainly not worth doing well.
A problem shared is a problem halved but an advantage shared is no advantage at all.

User avatar
GoMachV
Approved Member
Posts: 11189
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:31 am
Location: Twin Falls, ID
Has thanked: 758 times
Been thanked: 2193 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by GoMachV »

My Pulse was kinda like that, while you could slice it in Cura and use the SD slot, it was best used with MatterControl, and hooked up via USB. You could stop the print, delete an item, and keep printing sort of like modern slicers but this was 5 years ago
It's time to stand up to the bully. Support the companies that support the industry, not the ones that tear it down. Say no to Traxxas
Factory Works website

User avatar
mAdMan
Approved Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 11:30 pm
Location: Oak Hills, California
Has thanked: 158 times
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by mAdMan »

My Sony vaio runs windows 7 32 bit and mattercontrol is only available for 64 bit win 7 or higher.

My computer was purchased in 2009. It’s not surprising that I can’t use it for this printer. Though doesn’t make me any happier about being right over and over. How perfectly working hardware is designed to be obsolete by way of software. Over. And. Over. Every single day I’m reminded of this fact.


I purchased this one after visiting Best Buy and seeing they were well over 2x the price for lower specs.

Image


https://a.co/d/iiIODj2

User avatar
mAdMan
Approved Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 11:30 pm
Location: Oak Hills, California
Has thanked: 158 times
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: If I had a 3D printer…

Post by mAdMan »

Until my new laptop arrives I used my wife’s MacBook


First print is 0.4mm and 10% infill at 120% speed. 🤣 what I’m impatient and don’t want a toy boat
Image

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post
  • 3D Printer
    by Nobby Sideways » » in 3D Printing
    18 Replies
    2515 Views
    Last post by Joey48442
  • 3D printer fun
    by Barnfind » » in 3D Printing
    4 Replies
    605 Views
    Last post by j-sou
  • 3D printer for parts
    by mikijh » » in 3D Printing
    27 Replies
    3491 Views
    Last post by HS-YZ250

Return to “3D Printing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No User AvatarCommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests